March 9, 2016

Things I didn’t ask my father.

what was it like when you went to that wood crafting camp up near Old Forge. I have been to Old Forge. My friend Nancy has a family summer home there. I didn’t know that up the road you went to camp there in 1937.

What was Star lake like. Why did you and your family go there? How did you get there. It was pretty far from Loudonville.  Did you stay in a cabin? Did you have friends there?

Where was Aunt Neva’s cabin that you mentioned.

Where did you get that slab with the Trilobites on it. Did you find it. Was it given to you. Did you buy it?

You were good with a gun. You won a prize in Atlantic city by shooting the mark four out of five times.  I read that you practiced with your air rifle. I never knew that you could shoot a gun or use a bow and arrow.

What was it like to have a boy you did not know come to live with you for five years.  Why did he come to live with you. Where were his parents? Where did he go after that. Did you like him? Was he your friend?

What were Grandpa and Grandma Newton Like?

 

 

 

 

About jensiper

I like to write now and then
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March 9, 2016

  1. Gabriele says:

    This is lovely, jens. Such interesting details about a life unknow to me. Makes me SO curious about the answers to those questions!
    Gotta think about things I didn’t get to ask my father about. Lovely writing prompt!

  2. Gabrieleg says:

    I just read a book review on The Life-Writer by David Constantine. In th end there was a quote from the book that made me think of this post of yours.
    “You could make up a man’s life entirely out of questions; even without the answers they would point to him, draw an outline, even compose a shape of him, a space which, even without the answers, he must inhabit.”
    Somehow this image of drawing an outline of a man’s life out of unanswered questions seems absolutely wonderful to me. Doesn’t this mean that even though the answers were lost they can still be made visible in a different way? I really love this thought.

    • jensiper says:

      got it thank you! I am off to read it. I read it wow! fascinating. Have you read books by him before. The one about a frozen body in the glaciers caught my eye!. Anyway.I think I agree that the questions about someone as well as the answers, shape them. Maybe we fill in the blanks ourselves some how.

  3. Gabriele says:

    I haven’t read anything by him but I’ve seen the movie that was made out of In Another Country (the one where the body of an old love is finally retrieved from the glacier). It was amazing. A very quiet movie with subtle changes in the characters that turn into an implosion, changing everything. Wonderful story.
    The movie is 45 Years with Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtney.
    http://www.theguardian.com/film/2015/aug/27/45-years-review-tom-courtenay-and-charlotte-rampling-superb-as-couple-freshly-possessed-by-the-past
    I loved it. And it has kept me thinking about it, being touched and fascinated by it long after we had seen it. Maybe I should read the book as well. It’s probably VERY good.

    • jensiper says:

      well that looks fascinating. It was out this summer? I will have to look for it on Amazon or something like that. I have to see it. I like her very much as an actress. I wonder if the books are just as good. I will have to check him out. Thanks for that review. I want to see it!

    • jensiper says:

      I pre ordered the movie. It is playing around here but kind of far away. About an hour away. So I don’t think I will make that trip so I pre- ordered it on I tunes. It is not yet available. I looked into ordering the book but I decided to buy the one about the life- writer instead. Try that one first.

Leave a Reply

