February 12, 2016

I went to the Vischer Ferry general store with my mother today for lunch. It is not a general store but it might have been at one time. It is a historic building in the town of Vischer Ferry which was founded in the mid to late 1700s. A small town by the Erie Canal and  near the Mohawk river. There are a few homes there ,built in a Greek revival style. I sound like I know what I am talking about when I say that. I had to look it up. The clincher are the columns.

It is a nice place, the general store/ eatery. Very homey. The wide planked pine floors are original.  The items for sale are expensive but  of good quality.  There is one long wooden table with chairs for communal sitting. There are some window seats. A man I know said the place reeked of Estrogen. That comment rubbed me the wrong way of course.

The menu is not extensive. Two sandwiches. One or two soups and a salad. There are baked goods and assorted coffees and teas. The menu is on a chalkboard on the wall behind the counter. My mother and I had New England Clam Chowder. We shared a roast beef and cheese grilled sandwich with onion jam and mayo. It was tasty

We went in together on a little outfit for my my new grand nephew who arrived  yesterday in LA.  I bought a cotton onesy with a rabbit on it. Natural unbleached cotton. The rabbit a stamp in black ink and my mom bought a little hat in the same material with a felt sheep on it.  After lunch we went to the locksmith to have some keys copied. We met a beagle named poundcake there.

About jensiper

I like to write now and then
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February 12, 2016

  1. Gabriele says:

    Oh, I’d love to see that pine wood floor and take a seat at the window. A soup and a salad, please, and a nice cop of milk coffee after that. Something sweet with it for dessert.
    The beagle is a dog? Very pretty. Strange name for a dog though.

    • jensiper says:

      beagle is a dog!! yes.Have you never seen one? how is your sweetie dog by the way.I want milk coffee. What is that? You would love this place. It is so cute!!

      • Gabriele says:

        I had check what a beagle looks like, I’m not good with dog breeds, what they are called. I do see the occasional beagle but not so much. Milk coffee, hah, that is probably germish. Cafe au lait, a Latte, sort of. Sweet dog is doing well, she’s such a darling. Sleeps with me now. Very sweet.

      • jensiper says:

        beagles!! I have never been a big fan. But this one was so cute. It made me want one.

Leave a Reply

