February 7, 2016

I made my own almond milk. I have had store bought almond milk
It sounds so tasty but I never thought it was that good when I tried it. I liked the thought of it. I have seen recipes for it before. I finally decided to try it, now that I have all this time on my hands. I looked a recipe up on the internet. One with pictures and lots of explanations. I saved it to my Pinterest site, so that I can refer to it again. I soaked one cup of raw almonds for 12 hours. I drained the almonds. I added them to my Ninja blender that I bought on the recommendation of my hair stylist, the same one that gave me advice on how to rip up the carpet in my bedroom.Several days later and many staples taken out painstakingly with a flat screwdriver and a needle nose plier, I had a very nice hardwood floor.Anyway. Back to the Ninja blender. You need something powerful when you want to grind down almonds. You add about 3 1/2 cups of filtered water. If you don’t have filtered, I am sure it is okay. I added two of those fancy dates that begin with an M. She suggested a vanilla bean but I only had extract. I added a splash along with some Cardamon because I read that it is good for your immune system. I turned on the blender until it looked ready. Took a couple of goes. Then you pour it through cheese cloth into a bowl. She suggested a nut bag which I actually ordered on Amazon. I am an impulse buyer. The cheese cloth worked just fine, but I could see that, if you decided to double or triple the recipe, it might become messy. Then you squeeze out all of the liquid into the bowl. That can be poured into whatever storage container you have around. I used a ball jar. The pulp can be used some how on oatmeal or something.I saved some in the fridge. Okay so this Almond Milk was so delicious. I am telling you. I can’t get enough of it. It is probably really good warmed up too. Maybe a little rum in it? It tastes like egg nog. So much for buying it at the store.

About jensiper

I like to write now and then
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 7, 2016

  1. Gabriele says:

    A Ninja blender? What an amazingly powerful name. You guys (Americans) really know how to make people want to buy stuff!! I want a Ninja blender too!!! (But googling the thing I realize what I have at home is pretty much the same, it just doesn’t have such a cool name. It’s part of my Bosch kitchen machine, yawn …)
    I am totally in love with your way of writing recipes. So funny with those little life details thrown in, a certain nonchalence when it comes to details which is great because why stress over whether the water being filtered or not …? Love it. Makes me want to try out everything you write about.
    I want a hair stylist who knows how to rip up a carpet.
    You could make you special litte cook book out of these, you know that? I’d be the first to buy it.

    • jensiper says:

      that would be funny! I might consider it. I realized the other day while reading my novel which I am plowing through, my favorite part of the book is when food is being described. I have always loved that I guess. I love reading cook books. Something to consider. I am glad you have a ninja prototype! My hair stylist gives me great ideas. She talks a lot!!! but I am able to leave with some tidbits that are useful.

Leave a Reply

