February 3

The next day. I spent the day at home in my pajamas. I have pneumonia. I am sick but not that sick. So that is a good thing because I am not miserable. I am always worse at night. So daytime is okay. I am into getting healthy today. I drank hot water with lemon all day. Now hot water with ginger. I had fresh blueberries and rasberries in refer. I had some bone broth. I made my own bone broth. Okay so you get some bones from a reliable source. Grass fed organic the best. I went to whole foods and got some frozen antibiotic hormone free bones. Next best thing. You roast them for 30 minutes after you give one to your dog to chew on, on a sheet on the floor that you have to keep moving because he would rather chew on it on the couch. After roasting you soak the bones in water with a couple of tablespoons of vinegar. I forgot why. Then you add big chunks of onion, celery and carrots and some parsley. I put it in the crockpot because it has to cook for 48 hours!. Then you strain it. It keeps for a week in the fridge or you can freeze it. It has all kinds of health benefits that you have to look up because I can’t remember them all off hand. It is good for your skin. That of course caught my eye. I also made pasta fagioli. Not because it is good for me, which I am sure it is, but, because I have been craving it ever since I read an article on beans. I use to make this years ago from my cook book the epicurean vegetarian. Back when I was vegetarian. You soak the white beans over night. I chose great northern, though the recipe called for navy beans. What are they? After soaking you cook them for 2-3 hours with garlic and a bay leave. You saute carrots, celery, and onion with garlic, oregano and basil. Add tomatoes and cook about half an hour or so. Add the beans with reserved liquid and some elbow or shell macaroni and you are done. My husband is gluten free. bummer. So I have to use brown rise pasta. throw in some parsley and some parmesan. Serve with salad or Kale or whatever. I am really looking forward to eating. I drank all day today except for the yogurt and berries. Did I say I am happy to be home. Looking out the window at my birdies. It is dark now but they were there earlier.

About jensiper

I like to write now and then
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 3

  1. Gabriele says:

    WOW. I’m impressed by your recipe for bone broth. 48 hours!! That’s some serious broth cooking. Very funny the way you throw in the bone for the dog. I perfer Miss Lexa to have her bones in the garden, so in winter she only gets pieces of chicken’s necks with her meat. That way she won’t carry them to the carpet in the hall, her favoriter go-to place for treat.
    Pneumonia. That IS serious. Glad to hear you’re taking good care of yourself.
    Never heard of pasta fagioli before. I love beans! Especially the white giant ones. My family, not so much. Great recipe, I’ll try that. Yummy!
    I’m stuck right now with editing but I’ve had an idea how to proceed. realized I can work around the difficult parts and leave them for later when I see more clearly how they need to change. There are some things happening later in the story that I need to visit first, so I know where I’m heading. These are my adventures these days. I’m quite happy about it.

    • jensiper says:

      I am happy to hear that you are working on your novel and that it is going well. I told everyone over on DD FB that you were doing well. They were glad to hear it. I am going to try some chicken for rupert. It is the first time I had ever given him a raw bone. He was in heaven!!!

Leave a Reply

