Connect the Dots a quote from All The Light We Cannot See.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Connect the Dots.”

“you and  I, son we know history takes a longer course, don’t we?”

I am not sure how to get rid of the italics. I have to put this in a post. The easy thing to do would be to just say that I found it in a book that I just finished for book club. I chose the book because I love the author. I read another book by him that prompted me to chose his second novel. The first book was About Grace. This one is called All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

I am not sure which character said this but it is an interesting statement. Of course history takes a longer course.

It takes as long it needs to take I would think.  There is no measure of time when it comes to history. We can only look back at it. History is always happening. Present past and future to be.

History in the making. What would be a shorter course. Time can be long and painful or it can be short and sweet.

Maybe with all of the suffering, history can take a longer course. This novel was set in world war ll during the occupation of France.

There is always suffering somewhere. Time almost stands still.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/connect-the-dots/

About jensiper

I like to write now and then
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Connect the Dots a quote from All The Light We Cannot See.

  1. mwb6119 says:

    Hi Jenni I just have a question about writing here/blogs: Is this a writing blog site or a misc blog site? Do you know of other sites for writing (poetry) development? Preferably free? I like laid back as opposed to a professional/strict environment. And I don’t use facebook – don’t trust facebook – I know that limits me a bit, but oh well. Just a place that encourages writing, or poetry, without thinking about publishing or being published. There was/is a group on gaia ning but I was uncomfortable there. And I don’t like this one: http://www.writing.com/ – as it feels impersonal. As much as I benefited from DD, many there were very advanced and I felt in over my head.

    Hope you’re well. Happy New Year!

    Mark

  2. jensiper says:

    Hi!
    actually, I don’t know of any sites. I am sorry. I happened upon this one. I am finding it difficult because I have to work to get feedback and I don’t know anyone here. I don’t mind writing here now and then just for myself and if someone comments that is fine. I have not been writing much.
    DD seems long gone. Even though we set up a private site on DD. It is not working out. No one is going there. I wish I had some advice for you. I have never been one for publishing either.
    I am well thank you!! I hope you are too.

    • mwb6119 says:

      Hi Jenni, I did a search and did find one group that sounded good. I’ll give it a try: https://750words.com/

      This is the show-up-and-write type of thing I am looking for. We’ll see how it goes. I am signing up for a daily write for the Month of March.

      Also, I found a lot of blogs and signed on to those that sounded good to me. Hopefully this will inspire me to get on with it.

      I just ordered a book by Dorothea Brande,”Becoming a Writer” [1934]

      Not sure where this inspiration is coming from… 🙂

      Thanks Again,

      Mark

  3. mw says:

    Hi Jenni. It’s a good site. Just enough to motivate me to write daily. There’s no contact with the other writers – no one reads your material – just yourself and a note pad. It’s based upon the Artist Way exercise “daily pages” by Julia Cameron. It’s does cost, but they are waiving me at the moment. I just wanted something to get me to write daily, and I just write whatever comes up for three pages, or 750 words. Thanks for asking. Loved your Costa Rica story.

    • jensiper says:

      i know what you mean. I am writing this costa rica thing for my enjoyment. I think you are the only person who will read it.
      I am doing it for myself as well. I am not done with it yet. I wanted to document my trip there.
      I have that Artist way book. Intriguing.

Leave a Reply

